Home! Thursday, July 5, 4pm

Mileage Today (and Yesterday): 1,822 miles (36 hrs)
Odometer Stop: 39,884 miles
Odometer Start: 28,621 miles
Total Distance: 11,263 miles
Miscellaneous Info: 2 oil changes, 1 air filter, 2 sets tires, 1 headlight bulb – no mechanical issues
Funds raised:  Just over $10,000 – exact count  pending
 

Weyburn, SK – Home

I will be doing some post-dated posts on the activities of the last few days in Alaska, but for now, just letting everyone know I am safely home.

After getting stranded in Weyburn, SK by my 3rd set of violent T-storms, I decided to push for home at 4am on Tuesday morning.  I was trying to time it so that I made it through Chicago about midnight or later to miss the traffic – WRONG!!!!

I forgot that it was the 4th of July and hit Chicago about midnight – 4-5 lanes of traffic all night long.  I had left Weyburn about 4am, so had been on the bike for nearly 22 hrs when I hit this mess.  I was not a happy camper to say the least. Man, and I thought Philadelphia traffic and drivers were bad! Then there were the construction delays…  more later.

Anyway,  was finally on the PA turnpike about 2 pm on Thursday cruising about 80 mph, when I caught sight of a couple of crazy people waving and jumping around on the side of the road!  It was my sister, Georgia and her partner Ron with their own version of “Welcome Home.”  What a surprise!  I have to admit being fairly delirious by this time after almost 34 hrs of straight driving, but a welcome sight! Thanks Guys!

Writing this from home and will update the blog later this week-end so check back.  Epic journey to say the least.

9 responses to “Home! Thursday, July 5, 4pm

  1. dolores bonjo

    Welcome Home!!!

  2. Thanks – Good to be home! Now, to clean-up the mess I have created by being gone a month…

  3. RIVERTOWNE RON

    “Crazy people waving and jumping”…….what about that crazy guy on the screaming cylce!!!! WOW. An epic journey indeed. Truly an amazing accomplishment. It was a joy to be able to follow you along the way. And it really was exciting for us being able to catch you on your final leg home. Welcome back and congratulations.

  4. Hi Ted
    Glad to see you made it home OK. You are right about Chicago been through there many times and try to avoid if possible.

    Rich and Steph

  5. Thanks Rich – Thanks for all your help while in Fairbanks. I will pass the word on your “spot” for all riders coming through!

  6. Congratulations on completing your journey!

  7. CONGRATULATIONS TED!!! Epic journey.

Leave a Reply

